M.T. Dau, J.R. Shakirova, A.J. Karttunen, E.V. Grachova, S.P. Tunik, A.S. Melnikov, T.A. Pakkanen, I.O. Koshevoy

“Coinage Metal Complexes Supported by the Tri- and Tetraphosphine Ligands”

Inorg. Chem., 2014, ASAP

DOI: 10.1021/ic500402m

A series of tri- and tetranuclear phosphine complexes of d10 metal ions supported by the polydentate ligands, bis(diphenylphosphinomethyl)phenylphosphine (<i">PPP) and tris(diphenylphosphinomethyl)phosphine (<i">PPPP), were synthesized. All the compounds under study, [AuM2(<i">PPP)2]3+ (M = Au (<b">1), Cu (<b">2), Ag (<b">3)), [M4(<i">PPPP)2]4+ (M = Ag (<b">4), Au (<b">5)), [AuAg3(<i">PPPP)2]4+ (<b">6), and [Au2Cu2(<i">PPPP)2(NCMe)4]4+ (<b">7), were characterized crystallographically. The trinuclear clusters <b">1–<b">3 contain a linear metal core, while in the isostructural tetranuclear complexes <b">4–<b">6 the metal framework has a plane star-shaped arrangement. Cluster <b">7 adopts a structural motif that involves a digold unit bridged by two arms of the <i">PPPP phosphines and decorated two spatially separated CuI ions chelated by the remaining P donors. The NMR spectroscopic investigation in DMSO solution revealed the heterometallic clusters <b">2, <b">3, and <b">6 are stereochemically nonrigid and undergo reversible metal ions redistribution between several species, accompanied by their solvation–desolvation. The complexes <b">1–<b">3 and <b">5–<b">7 exhibit room temperature luminescence in the solid state (Φem = 6–64%) in the spectral region from 450 to 563 nm. The phosphorescence observed originates from the triplet excited states, determined by the metal cluster-centered dσ* → pσ transitions.

A.P. Molchanov, R.S. Savinkov, A.V. Stepakov, G.L. Starova, R.R. Kostikov, V.S. Barnakova, A.V. Ivanov

“A Highly Efficient and Stereoselective Cycloaddition of Nitrones to N-Vinylpyrroles”

Synthesis, 2014, 46, 0771-0780

DOI: 10.1055/s-0033-1340479

1,3-Dipolar cycloadditions of a number of C-aryl, C-carbamoyl-, and C,C-bis(methoxycarbonyl)nitrones and substituted N-vinylpyrroles proceed with high efficiency and regioselectivity with the formation of only one isomeric substituted 5-(1H-pyrrol-1-yl)isoxazolidine cycloadduct.

A.V. Stepakov, A.G. Larina, V.M. Boitsov, V.V. Gurzhiy, A.P. Molchanov, R.R. Kostikov

“Synthesis of indene derivatives via reactions of vinylidenecyclopropanes with the N-acyliminium cations generated from hydroxylactams”

Tetrahedron Lett., 2014, 55, 2022-2026

DOI: 10.1016/j.tetlet.2014.02.039

A novel route for the synthesis of 1H-indene derivatives via the reactions of vinylidenecyclopropanes (VCPs) with the N-acyliminium cations generated from hydroxylactams is described.

Today Deputy Minister of Education and Science of the Russian federation L.M. Ogorodova, director of the deparment for attestation of scientific and scientific-pedagogical personnel of the Russian Federation Ministry of Education and Science I.A. Shishkanova, Rector of the St. Petersburg State University N.M. Kropachev with vice-rectors I.A. Dementiev and S.P. Tunic visited our Center as part of their visit to the St. Petersburg State University.
For more details visit web-page of the St. Petersburg State University.


Within the Mendeleev-2014 conference we held the Open Doors Day. Excursionists looked at our equipment, got acquainted with basics of NMR and working principles of the Center, received promotional materials.


Dear Users,

In the Center we have developed a unique technique for measuring NMR spectra of carbon 12C. In connection with this since tomorrow measurements application of 13C will not be accepted. Note that samples for 12C spectra measurement must be prepared in special U-shaped square tubes. Applications for the new method of measurement shall be approved by all members of the Center.
You can download the application form here.